How to Meditate – Start with Just ONE Minute

How do you meditate?

There are thousands of ways.

The important thing is to not try. Trying stops the process of relaxing. Allow instead.

For me, meditating took a looooong time of:

The Keeper of the Threshold by Elihu Vedder 1897

 

trying …

reading about it …

trying …

giving up for a while …

reading some more …

trying walking meditation … (Felt silly to me-how can you meditate when you have to watch where you are going?)

giving up for a very long while again …

learning about guided meditation and self-hypnosis …

tried it nearly every day for a month …

and then one day, I got it.

I learned to really relax. To allow. To be okay when your mind starts to chatter (it could be messages that your guides are trying to get to you).

Then I remembered a past life where I taught a completely different kind of meditation. That day, I really got how it meditation worked. Sigh. Finally.

The best advice I ever read was that you can meditate for one minute.

A minute is easy.

Here is how: Focus on your breath. (And since I like to give my brain something to do …) I say to myself, “Breathe in love, breathe out fear” as I inhale and exhale. Just start with one minute.

The cool part of this short meditation is that you can do it anywhere – waiting in line, waiting for the microwave to beep, etc.

Try it. Take a minute. Let me know how it goes.

(I hope your attempts at understanding meditation goes faster for you. It took me years.)

Thank you for inspiring this blog post Shree!

13 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Cherokee Billie
    Aug 09, 2013 @ 10:33:07

    Reblogged this on Cherokee Billie's Blog.

    Reply

  2. Cherokee Billie
    Aug 09, 2013 @ 21:43:00

    I love your blog and friendship. I have learnt so much from you and I have nominated you for an award. I hope you will accept this with the love that it was sent. Check out the information here: http://cherokeebillie.wordpress.com/2013/08/09/a-beautiful-honor/
    Many blessings,
    Cherokee Billie

    Reply

  3. shreejacob
    Aug 10, 2013 @ 11:11:16

    Thanks Karen for this post and for the shout out!
    I’ve been having starts and stops too. Today I tried something different after reading your post…I just sat and focused on a white light..I set the intention that the white light was God. So I just sat…my mind went off showing me snippets of a movie I had watched…I let it, and then went back to the white light. I did not let it bother me that it was crystal clear as long as I had that intention. It was different…but for at least a few minutes I wasn’t trying too hard! So thank you 🙂

    Reply

  4. Tom Merriman
    Aug 10, 2013 @ 13:33:56

    I find I have problems when trying to meditate, Karen… maybe I’m trying too hard! I shall take your advice, and see what happens! Thank you for this.

    Reply

  5. nutsfortreasure
    Aug 15, 2013 @ 20:50:12

    I love meditating who knew 🙂

    Lovely post!

    I am an all in type of girl so mine was MEGA 🙂

    Reply

  6. heartflow2013
    Aug 24, 2013 @ 14:40:18

    Yes, this is very wonderful advice – I remember my teacher (back in 1978) telling me to just start in the morning, before getting out of bed, just sit up and breath for a few breaths with closed eyes and let the dreams etc. just clear away. He said it is like clearing your plate before putting more on it to eat again. The same in the evening before closing my eyes, just sit and breath a few times with closed eyes and clear off the day’s happenings, memories, impressions, tensions. This gave me the courage to start without great expectations. Then it starts to feel good and I started sitting longer, little by little. Great post, Karen! Happy to be on this journey together with you! tomas ☼

    Reply

    • Karen Kubicko
      Aug 24, 2013 @ 16:29:30

      Hello Tomas,
      What a wonderful teacher to come into your life. I think I will add that to part of waking up. I know I had a hard time learning how to meditate. I heard about just meditating for 3 minutes, then 1 minute and I thought that was easy to fit into my schedule.. and now it seems as though it is easy to do for 15 or 20 minutes. I think once your brain learns to relax and then you allow whatever to quietly happen or focus on a mantra or focus on a guided meditation … all these ways are great fun, relaxing and, as I am sure you know, healing on deep basis – as meditating is known to be. (I love the maharishi effect.)
      Namaste,
      Karen

      Reply

Leave a Reply

