Remembering Childhood Memories Through a Favorite Toy: A Cosmic Retrograde Challenge

Sometimes problems are hard to solve.

Sometimes problems become unsolvable.

I used to think the pyramid cube and Rubix cube were unsolvable. pyramid cube

Linda of the Litebeing Chronicles asked me to be part of her cosmic retrograde challenge. The challenge was to pull out an old object from long ago and just let it be near you for a few weeks. At the end of that time, we could write about what came up for us–whatever that may be.

I chose my pyramid cube. I had this toy since… um … a long time.

This challenge made me think about many childhood things around toys, playing games, having fun and more.

This particular toy was fun for me. I love to solve puzzles of all kinds. It is not nearly as hard as the famous Rubix cube, but still a similar challenge.

The first thing I learned is that sometimes things have to be a little chaotic before order can happen.

This particular toy has a red, blue, green and a gold side. Four sides do not seem like a lot until you have it messed up. The first side is easy to solve. Two sides, not too bad, but once you start on the last two sides; you have to learn to mess up [ahem … the chaos] the first two sides in order to finish it.

It made me think of the Rubix cube. I had that too. (Mine came from sending in Chex cereal box tops.) I did however have a step-by-step book on solving the Rubix cube. Thank goodness, my mother found it. I could only solve three sides before I had the book. It took me many hours of many days that summer, but I solved that thing … just once. I was satisfied with that.

It was then I learned determination. I did not give up.

The pyramid cube also brought back memories of when I was going to the hospital for surgery. I twisted and turned the toy repeatedly, messing it up and solving it. I played it as they wheeled me back to the operating room. I remember my nervous parents standing there and me handing the toy to my dad while challenging him to solve it just before going in to surgery.

I remember learning then that having a positive attitude could help you through tough times.

I remember reading that having a positive attitude can help the outcome of surgery. I sailed through surgery. I remember hearing the doctors say that they were surprised that I did not have any of the bruising that normally occurred. When I heard this, I knew it was my positive attitude that helped me through it all. It was not their skill, nor anything else, I had no doubt it was the positive attitude that did it.

I had forgotten just how long I had this attitude. It also made me remember that I lost my positive thinking attitude for a long time once, but now I have it back. It is hard to keep that attitude through everything that happens in life, but it does seem to make life a whole lot easier.

All this introspection … just from old memories … all from an old toy. It was as simple as setting an old toy on the shelf in my office at work.

One of these days, I will have to mess it up and see how fast I can solve it.  (That will be a fun 5 minutes or less.)

Next up for the challenge on November 13 – Sindy

Thanks Linda for designing this challenge and helping conjure up these memories.

About Karen Kubicko

www.KarenKubicko.com I found my joy in studying and participating in past life regressions. Ask me any question on past life regression and I will blog the answer. By re-experiencing my own personal past lives, I’ve learned a great deal about myself on multiple levels. I have remembered nearly forty past lives. Through total immersion into each memory, I have released a variety of unfounded fears, explained relationships, alleviated health issues, reawakened psychic talents and explained my fondness of certain time periods and geographic locations. When you personally remember a past life, you can heal yourself of health issues and phobias. Do you have any unfounded fears or phobias in your life? Do you have a nagging health issue? Are these issues unfounded in your current lifetime? Think about it. In my book, Life Is Just Another Class – One Soul’s Journey Through Past Life Regression, I share some of these lifetimes with you, in hopes that I will inspire and excite you to take your own spiritual journey. It is available on Amazon and at Barnes & Noble. We experience several lives here on Earth to learn and to grow. I invite you to embrace this classroom we call Earth and get to know why you are truly here in this lifetime. xoxox Karen
This entry was posted in Inspiration, Life, Metaphysical, New Age, Philosophy and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to Remembering Childhood Memories Through a Favorite Toy: A Cosmic Retrograde Challenge

  1. shreejacob says:

    That seems like a really fun challenge idea Karen! I really liked that it took you back through memory lane and you picked up a few wonderful baubles of wisdom from that journey!!

  2. I agree with you totally Karin that a positive attitude is everything, it is the driving force behind our life… Your challenge post is lovely.. Barbara

  3. Great challenge and great post, Karen! Makes me want to dig through my box of memories.

  4. I loved this post Karen! You really did get so much from a little toy 🙂
    I was struck by this line: The first thing I learned is that sometimes things have to be a little chaotic before order can happen. ~ This is very provocative and I will sit with this awhile. My sense is that this idea is a piece of wisdom I once knew and may want to re-member!

    I am curious if any spiritual alchemy occurred within you. Did you notice any changes within due to mixing this old toy with the you of today?

    BTW, it is also a pyramid, very cool indeed….

    love and light to you,
    Linda

  5. I love a positive attitude, the only way I make it through. Now Rubix Cube, or type of puzzle toys would have been thrown with force against a wall from impatience on my part. lol

    • Hello Sindy,
      You could do it if you tried.
      As an inspiration, I remember watching a tv show where kids and adults competed to complete the Rubix cube puzzle and won prizes.
      These toys were played with when I had time in the summer as a kid. I did not have all the cool electronics, internet, etc. to play with otherwise way back then…lol
      xoxo
      Karen

  6. Though I remain positive while by myself. I still struggle at this time with feeling positive about the world around me. This was great to read this morning.

  7. Pingback: Hippy Beads~ cosmic retrograde challenge | bluebutterfliesandme

  8. Hi Karen, first lovely to meet you, and that is such a true statement, our positive attitude helps us through many an ordeal, and no doubt at all it helped in your healing process..

    I remember the Rubix Cube, and never did solve it although my Son did….

    The world I think is going through its own chaotic challenges right now, And this is showing us how its time we realised each of us have to be more responsible for our actions.. Your Positive attitude saw you through your tough times… If we each embrace our positive sides through our own chaotic times I am sure we too will be helped along.. Its up to us as individuals to create a better world by our thoughts and actions…
    Thank you, and a pleasure in reading 🙂 Sue

    • Hello Sue,
      Lovely to meet you too! I look forward to reading your post coming soon!
      I agree, there are so many examples of how a positive attitude can get you through the worst of things. One just has to be open to that way of thinking.
      xoxo
      Karen

  9. Pingback: Cosmic Retrograde Challenge – a quick review and more posts added! | litebeing chronicles

  10. Pingback: Cosmic Retrograde Challenge: Alchemy, Manifestation & Twin Flames | aMusing Spirit

Leave a comment