Can You Be Holistic and Kill a Spider?

Yesterday I posted a blog that mentioned the book The Sense of Being Stared At by Rupert Sheldrake.

I shut my computer off and as I was leaving my office for the night, I actually felt I was being stared at.Very large wood spider

I looked behind my cubicle wall to see a VERY LARGE wood spider.

It has to be 2 inches wide and it looks as though it has fangs. I also saw her holding a large egg sack.

“Great,” I thought. I sat here all night with a large scary spider inches from my feet. I really do not like big spiders. I am not a big fan of the movie Arachnophobia either. (I screamed A LOT during that movie.)

Please note that I used to say all spiders, but now I do not mind the little ones. Honestly, I am less afraid since I remembered my past life as Howard who despised the spiders that easily crawled out of the place he was trapped.

Here is the problem. I know they are good. They eat other bugs. I know they are just living life as I am. My kids give me a hard time when I kill bugs. I have, in the past, put a general message out to all insects (including arachnids) not to come into my house and they will stay alive. (They have been warned.)

I have been trying very hard to change my old habit and to not exterminate them.

What do you do when you believe that every living thing is precious and that we are all one?

Do you scream and smash the icky spider? Do you squirt it with a lot of bug spray?

Do you let it live behind your office wall? (Knowing it could crawl up your leg any minute while you are engrossed in writing.)

Back and forth I go. What to do.

UGH. Torn. I am torn. It is a very large spider. Do I crawl behind my cubicle wall and come face to face with a very large scary spider … and to scoop it up, carry it upstairs and put it outside?

What would you do?

Then I think, “Well … I did sit here several hours without it crawling on me.” I am thankful for that.

I check my Ted Andrews Animal Speak book to see if there is a meaning to seeing this creature. (I open it right to the spider page.) Its message is to maintain balance, awaken creative sensibilities and more. Incredibly, the last paragraph in this section asks, “Do you need to write?”

Yes, in fact I do.

9 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Alethea Kehas
    Jul 11, 2013 @ 07:58:16

    Sounds like your spider was a messenger. I usually scoop up the bugs into a cup with a solid paper covering and let them back outside. xo, Alethea

    Reply

  2. renatembell
    Jul 11, 2013 @ 08:24:53

    I am smiling as I read this. Totally in the same boat. Everything! From the fear, the hope to improve, the warning messages, all of it! And, talk about synchronicity, just last night I managed for the first time EVER to carry a spider to my front door and release him. He stayed still on the small rug (his magic carpet ride) until I was able to gently toss him off the rug once the door was opened. This spider wasn’t even that large (looked like a black widow in shape, but wasn’t). I have not and will not see the moving Arachnophobia. You are braver than you give yourself credit for! Best wishes, and happy writing.

    Reply

  3. Words From the Moon
    Jul 11, 2013 @ 20:33:01

    How interesting is this, as I just wrote a post about my spider messenger ( I too am not a big spider fan but will try if at all possible to let the poor creature move on and live). And I took notice of the exact same place in Animal Speak, about “do you need to write” – very interesting! Some lovely synchronicity going on with spider…

    Reply

  4. lindalitebeing
    Jul 12, 2013 @ 00:31:53

    there seems to be a spider frenzy this week on and offline. You, Sindy, my mom, and a friend of mine have either been bitten by a spider or killed a spider. What is it I wonder? I do feel guilt over killing spiders and such, but is it wrong to protect yourself from harm?

    peace, Linda

    Reply

  5. shreejacob
    Jul 13, 2013 @ 08:06:21

    Ooo…well it seems like your spider was kind enough to bring you a message but I do know how you feel…really. I’m terrified of bugs…including moths and butterflies, grasshoppers and dragonflies..and the thing is these thing FLY!!!! I mean crawling is one thing, flying is another and I am terrified that they will fly at me! I feel bad too..but yea, I squirt insect repellent on them or get someone to do the bad deed for me 😦 I’m still trying to find out why I’m so phobic of them though!

    Reply

  6. Jennifer
    Jul 17, 2013 @ 10:50:56

    As I was reading this, I kept thinking, a spider means writing – you must need to write! I loved it when you concluded with that very thing. I have known lately that I need to write more, and just a couple of days ago what I think was the very same type of spider had hatched about 200 babies right on the threshold of my front door. It was a little scary, I must say, but also quite a message. It sure is hard to find time to write, though, when life comes in storms all around. 🙂 Thanks for the post.

    Reply

  7. nutsfortreasure
    Jul 17, 2013 @ 22:43:07

    Snakes and spiders have been warned at my place as well 🙂

    Reply

  8. ladyjztalkzone
    Aug 04, 2013 @ 08:46:31

    I warn them also

    Reply

  9. Madia
    Aug 12, 2013 @ 05:35:32

    What a great story! I smiled all the way when translated it into Finnish and posted in my blog. Thanks so much!
    I don´t personally mind spiders but here in Finland they´re quite small. I live in an old wooden cottage where there are LOTS of bugs inside specially in summer. We even had a beehive inside the walls and bees kept coming into our kitchen all the time. There were a few bees every morning, so I used to trap them inside a drinking glass and carry them out. It was in June, now I haven´t seen them any more.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

