The Great Gasby and My Life in the 1920s

You know, I have always loved the Roaring 1920s. Always. I am not sure exactly when I started liking this era, but it seems like forever. I have always wanted to have my hair fixed in a cute little finger wave bob. (Goodness knows, I have tried.)

But why?

Since I was in grade school, I have loved the 1920s anything. I used to say, “I must have had a past life in the 1920s.” I never knew that for sure until a few years ago when I remembered being Helen Merkowitz who died tragically in 1927.

(More on that in my number one searched blog post: “Do Birthmarks Disappear When a Past Life is Remembered?” Mercy, can you believe I posted my high school photos!?!)

I love 1920s clothes, the dancing, the music… Ahhhh, Big Band music. I really enjoy listening to that.

Ginger Rogers – Charleston Scene from Roxie Hart (1942)

The Roaring 20s, flappers dancing the Charleston

Today, I am thinking of Helen since the movie, The Great Gasby, is coming out. I wish I had read the book in high school, as most others have. (It is never too late to read it.) I look forward to watching the movie today.

The only reason I am seeing it, is because it is about the 1920s … really. I love looking at their fashion, hair, décor … all of it. The men’s suits … eye candy to me. The women’s fashion … comfortable, sexy and beautiful.

As Helen, I remembered saving money to buy an outfit for my night of dancing. I had it laid out on the bed ready to wear for the evening and admiringly loved it. During the regression, I went into great detail to describe it … even commenting that it was uncomfortable to wear a slip under the dress, but “appropriate” to do so. It is so funny the details I chose to remember from a past life.

Remembering that lifetime was very healing for me. By a surprise to me, the birthmark on my neck (which resembled a bullet hole) faded noticeably since I remembered this past life—that in and of itself was unexpected and cool. However, now I know why I love the Roaring 20s so much. I really did enjoy myself in that lifetime—until the mob shot me during one night out in an illegal club, of course.

Prohibition prevented me from going out dancing. Dancing must be in my soul… I do LOVE it. I apparently loved it so much as Helen, I risked my life for it.

The other day, I got the opportunity to go out dancing. I noticed a few people wearing fashion that was reminiscent of the 1920s style (fringes and all) … oh please, please, please, do come back into style … I would wear it. Absolutely.

(Do you want to read more on Helen? Do you know someone who works at a publisher?)

What do you love … and cannot explain?

15 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Trackback: Do Birthmarks Disappear When a Past Life is Remembered? | Karen Kubicko
  2. yachna
    May 12, 2013 @ 15:21:58

    I love England and cannot explain 🙂

    Reply

    • Karen Kubicko
      May 12, 2013 @ 21:04:57

      Hello Yachna! Maybe a past life is why you love England so much. For most of my life I could not explain why I had such passion for the 1920s. Now I know. I still love it!
      Namaste
      Karen

      Reply

  3. Dynamo Di
    May 12, 2013 @ 18:32:04

    Wow! You get that much detail doing a past life regression? I would love to identify my past lives 🙂

    Reply

    • Karen Kubicko
      May 12, 2013 @ 21:08:21

      Hello Dynamo Di!
      I do get a lot of detail. I also have been regressed or listened to a self-hypnosis regression tape many many times to get this much detail. When I first start to remember a past life, it is not so clear, but as I get more in tune with it, the details start to surface. I have visited my past life as Helen four times.
      You can try to remember a past life now – see my tabs at the top of my blog for a meditation to remember one. It is 30 minutes. Good luck!
      Namaste,
      Karen

      Reply

  4. Trackback: Trends to Love – Roaring 20s Floral | As Time Goes...Buy
  5. Galactic Earth 2012 and Beyond
    May 16, 2013 @ 11:27:59

    Hi Karen:

    Your blog is very inspiring and it is good to see you believe in past lives as I do. I have been regressed several times and each time was so completely amazing. I am a Quantum Healing Hypnosis Therapy Practitioner trained by the beautiful soul, Dolores Cannon, practicing in Mexico City, MX. To see the results my clients are having and the healing that is resulting from their past life regression and calling in their Higher Self, well there are no words to describe how fulfilling it is. Please continue to post on your blog as you are an inspiration to all.

    Sincerely,
    Kathyann

    Reply

  6. Trackback: Healing Through Forgiveness | Karen Kubicko
  7. Trackback: Karen Kubicko – Healing Starts Within | Higher Density Blog
  8. Estrella
    Feb 23, 2015 @ 12:07:07

    Im only 15, but I also feel a strong connection the roaring 20s.
    I love all of it, except the racism in that time of course.
    I listen to old classics like Louis Armstrong, Ella ftzegerald, Frank sinatra and more. My friends thinks Im weird. And people say I have an old soul.

    I believe in reincarnation, but Im not sure if I want to believe that I was a lady in the 20s in my past life or if its true…

    I also have this picture in my mind of a lady in her age maybe 25. She wears a war uniform, and she have a wawe bob and dark lipstick one.

    She is sad, because I think she lost her man or something…

    Reply

    • Karen Kubicko
      Mar 01, 2015 @ 11:00:08

      Hello Estrella,
      That is so awesome you are able to really pick up your past life memories. It makes complete sense to me as to why you are so drawn to that time period. (I really love everything about the 20s!!) Trust the information you receive. Hopefully, one day you will be able to remember more on her and understand her sadness, it can help you understand a future relationship.
      Sending healing love to you,
      Karen

      Reply

  9. Will Horton
    Sep 02, 2015 @ 00:23:25

    I’ve been into the 20s,30s since 1993 , when I was obsessed with machine gun Kelly. I’ve looking for the types of clubs from that era and finally succeeded tonight finding the cotton club. I heard a woman singing and I started crying. My girlfriend said I was singing the song word for word. She kept asking how I knew it. I didn’t even realize that I was singing.

    Reply

    • Karen Kubicko
      Oct 13, 2015 @ 00:26:20

      Hello! That is really cool that you found a club like from the 20s. Subconsciously you were remembering that lifetime when you were in the club. You were connecting to that memory for sure!
      Namaste!
      Karen

      Reply

  10. shirleysuperson
    Feb 24, 2016 @ 22:27:32

    I have a live for the Native American Culture and had a dream once of a medicine man speaking to me in my dream. Could this be a past life experience?

    Reply

    • Karen Kubicko
      May 02, 2016 @ 14:53:50

      Hello Shirley,
      It certainly could be a past life. If you had a lot of emotion to it, that makes it easy to know it is a past life. The medicine man was helping you heal. It could be that this man came to you in a dream to help you heal in this life… interestingly, that is exactly why past life regression is so healing through the memories. Meditate and see what comes to you. You can also listen to the recording “Remember a past life now” in this blog.
      xoxoo
      Karen

      Reply

Leave a Reply

