Use Only Positive Words

A month ago, my daughter had a large group of young tween girlfriends at our house for a sleepover. I left them to chat and run around and have fun.

Many of them had cell phones and someone sent a not-so-nice text … by accident.

There were a lot of young girls crying and whispering. After I realized what happened, I calmly had all the girls sit down in a circle.

I talked to them about how every word a person says sticks to them, the wall, the room, etc. It was very important that they only use positive words. They had questions and related stories.

Then I proceeded to talk to them about how to say positive statements. I had each of them take a turn to say a positive something … a few different times.

Our chat lasted for nearly 2 hours. They sat and listened.

I never know what kids will hear and absorb, but I do know I must have made an impact on a few of them. Just the other day, I overheard one of my daughter’s friends say, “Hey, use positive words!”

I am so proud.

I will open my mouth only when loving words come out

9 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. RedChef
    Jan 10, 2013 @ 00:21:53

    What a heartwarming picture, Karen. Good for all of you — and now they’ll pass on their deep understanding to others — creating even more love and miracles!

    Reply

  2. Alethea Kehas
    Jan 10, 2013 @ 09:24:56

    Love this, as a daughter of a tween, it brought tears to my eyes. So wonderful you inspired those girls to ripple positive energy into the world through their words!

    Reply

  3. Raziel64
    Jan 11, 2013 @ 10:33:20

    For me the lesson is not that you taught them to use positive words, but the act of love in reaching out put their tech worlds on hold and you all shared the bounty of being for nearly 2 hours. Priceless…

    Reply

    • Karen Kubicko
      Jan 11, 2013 @ 10:42:33

      Thank you Raziel for your loving words! You are so right. There were so many other ways to react to this situation ~ I am so glad I chose the only positive one I knew (based on my heart chakra class).

      Reply

  4. bluebutterfliesandme
    Jan 11, 2013 @ 14:04:20

    Many years ago now, I was given and read the books of Florence Shovel Schin, “Your Word is Your Wand” and several others of her books. There was a series of 4 or 5. I wrote about her in my Notes section on Facebook.
    https://www.facebook.com/notes/sue-simms/florence-scoval-shinn/202274053149636

    Anyway that was the beginning of my spiritual journey, so it was a long time ago. When we are conscious of our words, thoughts and actions, we are conscious. lol
    As an experiment on at least three different periods in my life I have embarked on affirmations to affect change, using the Power of words and on every occasion I was successful. sorry to ramble on. those girls were so blessed to have you care and share that with them.

    Reply

    • Karen Kubicko
      Jan 11, 2013 @ 14:14:55

      I love your ramble. Thank you for adding that link. I hope others are so inspired by Florence Schin as well!
      Had I not remembered that one lifetime as a metaphysical teacher, I would not have talked with them as deeply. It brought tears to my eyes to hear they listened, truly listened.

      Reply

  5. Trackback: What is Your Perspective? Positive or Negative? | Karen Kubicko

Leave a Reply

